Want to be in… Sarajevo

I’ve just read a post on Cineuropa, that the Sarajevo Film Festival will have a tribute to Cristi Puiu. Some of his films will be shown in Sarajevo between 16th and 24th August. I particularly insist to see one of them, The Death of Mr Lazarescu (Moartea Domnului Lazarescu). It’s a comedy with a Balkan taste and fascinating, adorable humour (at least that’s what you get from the trailer. I really have the feeling that at the end is going to be much more..).

So if you’re in Sarajevo at that time, please, please, please, tell me how it was because I don’t know if and how I’m gonna make it there…

P.S.: If you have been in Bucharest, you will know what the Parliament joke actually means. (Or just check the Romanian Parliament on wikipedia).

death_of_mr_lazarescu

Author: meine kleine kunstgeschichte

I study Art History at the LMU Munich. I am interested in early Christian and Byzantine art and also in Islamic and Medieval art and architecture.

2 thoughts on “Want to be in… Sarajevo”

  1. Good taste for cinema Prolet (thumbs up)
    “The Death of Mr. Lazarescu” is far not Puiu`s best movie, but Sajevo is the best place to be during the festival ; )

  2. I haven’t seen any films by Puiu and this one just cought my attention. And as a whole ontemporarty Romanian cinema seems to be pretty good (from what I’ve seen at the Munich Film Fest and also the Netzer film winning the Berlinale).

Leave a Reply

